Faith Mcferran

Faith Mcferran

Age:
20

Level:
5 , Year 2

Home Town/Country:
Liverpool, England

Medium Used to create your piece?

I have two pieces being included in the show, one uses paint, print and paper manipulation on tracing paper and the other uses light and shadow projections.

What is your piece about?

My work is about the dissection of the human body. I focused on what makes us all the same and used the human anatomy as a base. I wanted to show how you can peel back the layers of cosmetic values and skin and reveal that we’re all essentially the same underneath.

Does your piece have a title? If no, What would you call it?

Dissection”

How was your work developed through out this project? 

I’ve always used influences of the human body in my work, so I knew my main focus was going to be on some of the more gruesome aspects of the anatomy. At the beginning of this project I started it off with my shadow manipulation process and then developed on to create more three dimensional work like my mixed media paper sculptures.

Why have you chosen that certain medium?

I manipulated the tracing paper so I could pull back parts of the top layer and reveal what was beneath. The translucency and fragility of the tracing paper appeared most akin to that of human skin and the soft tissue below it. For my projections, I chose to represent the contrast in bone colour with light and shadow. I used the shadows to portray the movements of the limbs and structures of the body, manipulating them like shadow puppets.

What is your favorite type of medium? 

During this project, I haven’t favoured a certain medium in particular; I preferred to use a number of different types of media together to create a final mixed media piece.
However, one of my favourite aspects has been sculpting the tracing paper layers and manipulating them into a curl or a curve the show what lies beneath.

Do you consider yourself an ‘artist’? How would you describe your style?

I feel like I am on the path to becoming an artist, but I know there is also always more to learn and explore about my own work. I hope to push and break boundaries with my art, creating work that may shock or entice the viewer. The reason for this is because a lot of my work situates around the concept of death and my style is quite horror based.

What influences you with your work?

My personality influences a lot of my work, especially aspects like my clothing style and music taste which have always been quite alternative ever since I was very young. I have always had a fascination with things that are considered different from the’ mainstream’ life. The human anatomy has also always been a massive interest and influence to me, I’ve always had a morbid fascination with it.

What has been the best advice given to you as an artist? What advice would you tell to young artists?

My father, who is also an artist, offers me the best advice by telling me to make the most of every opportunity in university while I am there. I would encourage other young artists to work as hard as they can if they are really passionate about what they do, because that’s the only way you’ll get somewhere in life.

Where do you see yourself in the future? Do you have any plans?

I am currently just enjoying the freedom to explore and discover my own style of work so I am unsure as to what the future holds as of yet. I hope to move on to do my Masters Degree in the future.

What do you consider as ‘good’ art? Art that is great to look at or art that leaves you with an impression?

In my opinion ‘Good art’ is work that moves or overwhelms the viewer. I also love art that offers insight into the artists own individual experiences and personalities.

What comes into your head when you hear the word “Perception”?

When I think of the word ‘Perception’ I think of peoples own values and opinions on a certain topic like art. It is a word that allows the viewer to think for themselves instead of having a thought being shoved or projected upon them. Whether this thought is awe or even disgust, they have the right to choose themselves.

After hearing about our show so far, what are your thoughts?

The show seems to offer a different insight on the human body and I am excited to be a part of it. I look forward to seeing it up and running!

How do you prefer your work to be displayed? Do you prefer to display your work yourself?

Last year I had the opportunity to display an artist’s work the way I felt it should be seen, and the artist himself said that he would have never chosen this perception himself, but he loved it more than his own idea. Because of this, I am happy to let the curators of the group choose how they personally would like to display my work because it offers a different insight and perception to the pieces.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Faith Mcferran « ARTlife.

Comment on this:

